Thursday, September 28, 2023

WPL 2023: All You Need to Know

The inaugural Women’s Premier League (WPL) will begin its first season, giving Indian cricket players another season. This signals a significant advancement for women’s cricket in India because the association will provide sponsorship opportunities and genuinely needed openness. Since the conclusion of the Women’s Grand Slams Association in Australia, this has been an established demand from women’s cricket players in the country.

The WPL promises to be an exciting opportunity for women cricketers to showcase their skills and compete at the highest level. Before the matches start, understanding the rudiments of the league is significant. Fans can hope to see six groups contending in a cooperative organization, with the main four groups progressing to the semi-finals. The competition will occur across three settings, with matches being played in Lucknow, Baroda, and Surat.

How many teams are there in the Women’s Premier League?

The inaugural edition of the competition has drawn in a different scope of proprietors, with five establishments being bought and situated in various urban communities across India. These establishments are the Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Goliaths, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and UP Warriorz. Each establishment addresses a one-of-a-kind blend of ability and methodology, with an emphasis on exhibiting the best of Indian homegrown cricket. As the competition advances, fans can hope to see these establishments contend furiously for a definitive award.

What are the venues for WPL 2023?

WPL 2023

It should happen to individuals that on the off chance that there are five establishments, they should play home and away games like IPL. Tragically, however, this isn’t true for the primary season and the association administering body has chosen to have all the matches in Mumbai. The two grounds picked for the matches are Dr. Dy Patil Arena in Navi Mumbai and Cricket Club of India’s Brabourne Arena in Mumbai.

What is the format of the Women’s Premier League 2023?

Despite not playing on a home-and-away premise and all matches being played at only two settings in a single city, the teams in the Women’s Premier League will not be playing against each other twice. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has adopted a round-robin format for the first edition of the WPL.

Under this configuration, each group will play against the other once, bringing about a sum of 20 association matches being played. The main three groups will then, at that point, be concluded in light of their presentation in the association matches. The group positioned number one will consequently fit the bill for the last, while the groups positioned two and three will contend in a season finisher. The victor of the season finisher will join the main positioned group in the last, which will be hung on Walk 26 at the Brabourne Arena.

Who are the captains of all five teams?

The Women’s Premier League has attracted a star-studded lineup of captains, with each group being driven by notable countenances in the cricketing scene. The Delhi Capitals will be captained by Meg Lanning, the record five-time World Cup-winning captain from Australia. Another Australian, Beth Mooney, will lead the Gujarat Goliaths. The Mumbai Indians will be driven by Indian captain Harmanpreet Kaur, while the Royal Challengers Bangalore unit will be captained by Indian player Smriti Mandhana. The UP Warriorz, then again, will be driven by Australian wicketkeeper-player Alyssa Healy.

These commanders bring an abundance of involvement and expertise to their separate groups and are supposed to assume a vital part in driving their groups to progress. As the association advances, fans can anticipate seeing these gifted players feature their administration capacities and guide their groups toward triumph. With such a gifted setup of commanders, the Ladies’ Head Association vows to be an intriguing and profoundly cutthroat competition.

How many foreign players are allowed in the playing 11?

The standard is equivalent to IPL with four outsiders permitted in the playing 11 of each group. Be that as it may, there is a slight change as the WPL has permitted the team to handle five outsiders with the fifth being an individual from the Partner Country. Just the Delhi establishment has joined Tara Norris of the USA, which is a Partner Country.

Mumbai Indians Squad for WPL 2023

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Amanjot Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Heather Graham, Issy Wong, Chloe Tryon, Priyanka Bala, Dhara Gujjar, Saika Ishaque, Humairaa Kaazi, Sonam Yadav, Jintimani Kalita, Neelam Bisht, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia, Amelia Kerr

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad for WPL 2023

Smriti Mandhana (c), Sophie Devine, Heather Knight, Megan Schutt, Kanika Ahuja, Erin Consumes, Dane van Niekerk, Preeti Bose, Komal Zanzad, Disha Kasat, Indrani Roy, Shreyanka Patil, Asha Shobana, Poonam Khemnar, Sahana Pawar, Richa Ghosh, Ellyse Perry, Renuka Singh.

Delhi Capitals Squad for WPL 2023

Meg Lanning, Alice Capsey, Shikha Pandey, Jess Jonassen, Laura Harris, Radha Yadav, Minnu Mani, Taniya Bhatia, Poonam Yadav, Sneha Deepthi, Arundhati Reddy, Titas Sadhu, Jasia Akhter, Tara Norris, Aparna Mondal, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shefali Verma, Marizanne Kapp

Gujarat Giants Squad for WPL 2023

Ash Gardner, Sneh Rana, Beth Mooney, Georgia Wareham, Annabel Sutherland, Sophia Dunkley, Deandra Dottin, Hurley Occasion, Sushma Verma, Tanuja Kanwar, Harleen Deol, Ashwani Kumari, S Meghana, Mansi Joshi, D Hemalatha, Monica Patel, Parunika Sisodia, Shabnam Shakil.

Read More: The Mental Health Benefits of Traveling

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles